Read Your Way This World Book Day

For the book lovers, everyday is a book day, however, 23rd April is officially celebrated, across the globe (well, most parts) as World Book Day.

The day, 23rd April is significant as it marks the death anniversary of many prominent writers in the history, including William Shakespeare, and perhaps that’s the reason this day was chosen by UNESCO to be World Book Day.

Books and reading is a great habit that I’m glad I fell in love with from a very young age, and I hope this love continues to grow. Some of the books have had great impact on my life and I’m glad those books found a way into my life.

If I’ve to share a few of my favourite titles (in no particular order) that would be as follows. These are a few of my many favourites. Reading historical fiction makes me think a lot, it makes me question the ways societies work, humans think and behave. The first two of the following titles are set around WWII and the third one is around war torn Kabul. The last one is a truly timeless classic and an absolutely thought-provoking work of literature that is timeless and a true masterpiece.

  • The Book Thief by Markus Zusak
  • All the Lights We Cannot See by Anthony Doerr
  • A Thousand Splendid Suns by Khaled Hosseini
  • Crime and Punishment by Fyodor Dostoevsky

These are deep reads, so do not pick these unless you’re ready for your emotions to be churned out. But if you’re anything like me and looking for some great reads, do check these out. Go ahead and read your way this World Book Day and every day.


Discover more from TravelAndHappiness

Subscribe to get the latest posts to your email.

Thank you for stopping by. Would love to read what you have to say, please leave a comment :)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.