Friday Travel Pic, Baralacha La

This memory of wandering awestruck in Ladakh goes way back to the year 2007. My friends had planned about a month long biking expedition to Ladakh. I had no idea what and where Ladakh is, at that point, to be honest. But the idea was so exciting, and in so many ways. I was in my early 20s, had never been on a biking expedition, and certainly had never been to Ladakh.

I have never written about the entire Ladakh Biking experience but I sure have spoken about it with anyone and everyone I know, in detail, to an extent that they got tired of listening to me talk about Ladakh. My (now) husband (whom I met a few years after the Ladakh Biking trip) has heard it all so many times that he practically knows all the events that happened in that month-long trip and that too in a perfect order. I may write about that experience one day or maybe I won’t ever, but I sure will share some of it from time to time here on the blog.

We were a group of 12 travelling on ten bikes. My sister and I don’t ride bikes, so we rode pillion. I did not have a point and shoot or DSLR camera back then (I was a student, and also I had never given a thought to whether or not I like cameras as I was happily busy with the random things everyone does in their early 20s). Also I did not have a blog and social media wasn’t such an important part of our social lives back then. Which is why I never felt the need to document the trip, though I posted about it on Facebook a few months later. The thing is traveling like that was a great thing back then because I could thoroughly enjoy each and every moment and I was able to truly be in the moment without getting distracted.

I had a Nokia 5300 slider phone though that I used to capture some pics. I have lost most of the few pics that I had managed to click on my phone since. Unlike the smartphone, my Nokia phone was functioning for a few days allowing me to click pics. Thankfully I have some pics to look at and re-live the memories that my friends captured on their DSLRs.

The cover pic was clicked at Baralacha la – meaning the ‘Big Pass’ (La means a mountain pass) and the pic below shows me standing in front of the glaciers at Rohtang La or Rohtang pass along the bike that I was riding pillion on.


Discover more from TravelAndHappiness

Subscribe to get the latest posts sent to your email.

Thank you for stopping by. Would love to read what you have to say, please leave a comment :)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.