Fun, Easy and Pun-derful Fruits and Veggies Watercolour Doodle

Everyone likes good puns, I think. I enjoy clever puns, I mean whoever came up with those must have an interesting mind, don’t you think?

I was practicing watercolours the other and I loose painted some fruits and veggies, pic below. Berry always make me think of the word “very” and that was because of a tag line I read on a fruity lip balm I’d bought (long ago) – it read “very berry” and something more, but my mind seemed to have retained only the very & berry association. I especially find food puns to be very interesting and fun. So I just added a fun pun line on this fruits and veggies watercolour doodle that I made.

About the watercolour doodle, it’s a simple and easy one. To paint the beetroot, I’ve used vermillion+tiny bit of blue, added just a tiny bit of white – to make it lighter in certain spots, I’ve always used more water, less pigments in places to make it further lighter. Dabbing these mixes around forming the shape of a beetroot. For the leaves, I have straightaway used lime green and sap green for lighter and darker areas respectively. Mostly it was a wet on wet watercolour technique used.

The blueberries were also painted using the prussian blue pigment, as is and watered down as required to paint lighter and darker areas of the berries, using the wet on wet watercolour technique. For the cast shadows underneath the blueberries, I’ve used grey (basically tiniest bit of black pigment that is super watered down) so that it shows the grey closer to the object and a slightly darker border towards the edge of the shadow as it dries.

Painting avocados is always so much fun for me, that may largely be so due to the fact that I absolutely love avocados. To paint this avocado doodle, I’ve used sap green, dark green and lime green accordingly. Wet on wet technique works the best as it blends and spreads and mixes the greens beautifully resulting in that desired look of an avocado. For the avocado pit, I’ve used burnt umber starting with a very light wash forming the shape of the pit. I then proceeded with dabbing around mostly edges and some random spots on the pit with a slightly thicker consistency of burnt umber. If I end up dropping too much pigment on the paper, I also dab it with a clean dry brush or a paper towel, it works the best in giving that natural texture. I followed the same process for cast shadows for the avocado as I did for the cast shadows of the blueberries (check above). And that’s it, that was all about this fruit and veggies doodle.

One thing I’d like to remind you as well as myself is that, when creating something, practicing something, it doesn’t have to be perfect, it just has to be fun. It gets better over time, and that’s a bonus. Also this blog, my space isn’t about how to paint avocado, or how to paint blueberries or how to paint watercolour fruits and veggies. All I do is just share my process, my experience, my learnings, the fun I had while playing with colours, if it helps anyone in anyway, that’s a bonus for me. It was a fun paint and play day and I thoroughly enjoyed it. Hope you find the process helpful if you’re thinking of trying it out. Keep creating!


Discover more from TravelAndHappiness

Subscribe to get the latest posts to your email.

Thank you for stopping by. Would love to read what you have to say, please leave a comment :)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.